Shany Makeup Kit Review!

Hi! Today, as I said yesterday, I have a review on my big ole’ Shany Makeup Kit. Yesterday I said it was Limited Edition, but I just found out that they still carry a slightly different version with the same # of  products, but a little bit of different colors and textures. I think I have the 2011 version. I got it from Amazon for $40. Even if the new one is only $25, the value and quality of the older one, the one I own, is better, even if they seem the same. I swatched some of my favorite colors, the lippies, and the blushes. Here is the whole kit:

Image

The whole kit folds up into a carrying case thing! Good size for travel!

Image

The first layer is the powder eyeshadows.

Pros:

~eyeshadows are all very pigmented

~apply smoothly

~great color pay-off

~good array of colors

Cons:

~not enough matte shades (which isn’t a problem for me, because I love shimmer and sparkle, but if you love matte shadows more than shimmer…)

Image

The left side is mostly blues and browns, with a couple grapefruit pinks, and lighter highlighting colors. The greens mostly have some blue in them, making them all look teal. (The blues and the browns are my favorites! They are amazing!) 😀 ❤

Image

A few of my favorites swatched.

Image

Some more on the left side.

Image

The right side is browns, a black, silvers and grays, purple, bronze, gold, dark green, and light colors. (I love the dark greens and reddish-browns!) 😀

Image

Some faves.

Image

More faves.

Image

By the way, this one eyeshadow is exactly like MAC’s Pigment in Blue Brown, but in eyeshadow form! 😀

Image

Some more on the right.

Image

The next layer is sparkly and shimmery cream eyeshadows.

Pros:

~good pigmentation

~good color pay-off

~good array of colors

~nicely textured

Cons:

~No mattes

Image

Left side. Both sides have all different colors!

ImageImageImage

Right side faves!

ImageImage

The last layer of the left side is where the lip colors are, and where the applicators are. *were* 🙂

Image

There is a light pink, a peach, a bronze-brown, coral, red, and bright red.

Pros:

~good pigmentation

~apply evenly and smoothly

~pretty good array of colors: I think they could have switched out the middle red for a hot pink, but other than that, the colors are very nice.

Cons:

~none

Image

Because of the lighting, the colors didn’t show up as well on my skin. But really, the colors are colorful! 😀

Image

On the last layer of the right side, there are 3 matte blushes, and a mirror.

Pros:

~good pigmentation

~nice array of colors

~not chalky

~work nicely for most, if not all, skin colors.

Cons:

~No shimmer: I guess they could have made 1 of the blushes shimmery. But since I love matte as well, I don’t mind.

ImageImage

Light pink, bright pink, coral. The light pink is my favorite one!

Image

The whole kit, with my hand next to it for sizing….It’s big, but once you fold it up, its small enough for travel.

Bonuses:

All of the eyeshadows are completely waterproof! They last in the pool, and the shower. They are easy to take of with makeup remover too. 😀 They also don’t melt at all either. Even on very oily eyelids! 😀 Everything is also scent free, the lip colors last long, and the blushes don’t melt or change colors with wear.

Not so great things:

When I got this kit, there was absolutely no protection on the eyeshadows, both layers, or the lip colors. (Only the blush has cover, the only thing that doesn’t need  it! 😛 🙂 )  It had several broken eyeshadows. The 2nd time I ordered it, all of the powder shadows were in perfect shape, but 2 of the cream shadows were broken. They got in all of the lip colors and the cream eyeshadows, and because I din’t want to wait any longer, I just cleaned up everything, the best I could. 😛 That is why the kit is a little bit messy with blue dust! The blushes, of course, were completely fine. 🙂 So if you end up getting this, be warned that there could possibly be broken shadows.

I hope you all liked this review!<Lucy 😀 ❤

*Monday’s Preview: Wearable Slate/Charcoal and Red!

*I usually don’t post on weekends. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Shany Makeup Kit Review!

  1. Pingback: LOTD: Date Night | Makeup Crazy

Leave a Reply

